Setting up an Intranet

• snowdove
  • snowdove

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, I have a couple questions here -- maybe someone can help me out,

INTRANET:

1. Is there a site somewhere with details on the server side of setting up an Intranet? I'm a web designer and ASP programmer -- but a bit lost when it comes to server side configurations. I've created and programmed literally hundreds of commercial websites, but never set up an INTRANET from scratch. The development part of it is not an issue, but I dont know where to begin to set up the server.

I'm sure it's fairly simple - but I have very basic questions. Like where the heck do you put it? Does it GO on the webserver--not under INetPub or WWWRoot though. Is there some setting in ISS that allows only network access? If not on the web server, can I still have my ODBC connections and CDOnts mail ? yada yada yada...

As you can see, I need basic instruction. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate it.

INTERNET:
2. If you haven't figured it out yet, I need a Servers for dummies book.
I can only do on server-side what I've had to do to code my database driven ASP sites. So here's what will be a very simple question for most of you: We want to move our INTERNET webfiles from the C drive to the D drive on the web server. Does anyone know where I go in to IIS and change the active directory and anything else I need to know about that?

Thanks,
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

One could write a book to answer that question. Here's a link to get you started:

http://www.intrack.com/intranet/ifaq.shtml

Then try this Google search for added reading:
"setup an intranet"