Start taskbar will not activate

  • caroljallen2000
  • Born
  • Born
  • caroljallen2000
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am unable to activate the start menu thru the start taskbar. therefore I am unable to shutdown (or restart) through normal process. I must shut down with the cpu power button which creates a message "improper shutdown was detected". Also, I am unable to access the internet. Both problems occurred at approximately the same time.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Cuerock
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Cuerock
  • Posts: 540
  • Loc: My cubical

Post 3+ Months Ago

CTRL+ALT+DEL= Shutdown. :D Besides that i am stumped! :D
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9086
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you still have this problem after rebooting?
  • caroljallen2000
  • Born
  • Born
  • caroljallen2000
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes I do. I am able to open in safe mode and I am able to use the start task bar, however, I am still unable to access the internet. I have used the XP disk to thry to repair the problem, however, that does not help either.
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9086
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

What version of Windows are you using? Have you got all your updates from Windows Update? What was the last thing you did before this problem started happening?
  • caroljallen2000
  • Born
  • Born
  • caroljallen2000
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

XP home edition and all updates have been installed.
Activity before the problem -
normal shutdown previous night
on startup the next day, unable to access the internet
I ran a program PC Power Scan and it reported a missing file dll/ocx/com classes. I do not know what this file is for and I do not know how to find out. After the program reported the missing file, I was not able to fix the problem because I am unable to get to the internet. When I tried to shut down, or re-start, was when I discovered that the start task bar would not function.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think PC Power Scan is your problem. I just did a search on it in google and it provided 267 results, and after just reformatting my computer and reinstalling my OS, I just plain don't like the looks of any of those links. Sorry --I wasn't about to click the top results to get more details.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I should expand on that last statement. I normally run a r/t time virus scan adaware/ spyware progggie but don't have them installed yet to check it

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.