Turn it on . . Nothing!!!!

• croths
  • croths
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm posting on behalf of my son who,it seems, is in big doo doo. He has an HP Pavilion 4530, running Windows 98. It has 4 gigs & was getting very full, he'd begun to try & clean up, downloading a registry cleaner & sorting through the vast amounts of digital photo's. This he'd last worked on about mid-week & the computer had been starting up and running OK, but late yesterday he re-booted & nothing happened. He gets the Hewlett Packard sign come up, then nothing else, no windows start screen, no faint whirring noise of activity.
Now, he HAD mentioned to me that he was hearing 'noise' from his drive in recent months while it was running, not being there I can't describe the noise. He'd opened it up to check and clean the fans, this is one of those compact towers, hard to get to anything!! I'm no expert but the thought that the hard drive may have failed lingers, and he has lots to lose, photo's, the book he's working on, etc. Does anyone have any hints or clues please? If more info is needed I can phone him, he's bordering on panic right now so I don't know how coherent he'll be:o) Thanks very much.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
I'm posting on behalf of my son who,it seems, is in big doo doo

Lol love it! :lol:

You could ask him to get into the BIOS and see if that sees it (typically one of these keys at the HP splash screen: F1, F2 or Del). He could also open it up and check the connections of the drive. It *could* be that one of the cables has come loose (fairly unlikely to be honest)

Ideally if he has another computer he can use (such as yours) he could add the possibly failed drive in and use your PC to check it. If it runs up he can then copy essential data to your machine for now.