Vista 64 install problems

  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey,

I'm doing a fresh install on a newly built pc, all seems ok till i get to the expanding files part of the install and it sits on 0% for a while then stops with an error message saying that there were errors with the install. i have looked all over the net and found things that don't work so i though id post my specs to see if anyone can see something obvious. various reboots result in no bbotmgr and needing to ctrl+alt+del.

- the hdd has been formatted and recognised and the dvd drive obviously working. have also changed the bios to boot from the dvd then hdd 2nd.

hardware specs below.

- intel core2 quad6600/2.4/2x4mb/1066fsb/lga775
- seagate sata2 ncq 500gb 7200 32mb cache
- samsung 20xdvd sata
- xfx nforce 790i ultra
- xfx gf8800 gtx 3xedition x2 in sli
- 1 x 4gb corsair (2x2) pc10600(1333) xmp ddr3

might try some hardware adjustments tonight. will take out 2gb of ram and maybe one of the gtx's... other than that i have no idea.

any ideas appreciated
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you remember the exact error message?
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

cant recall exactly but a quick look on the net and i think this is it.

Windows cannot install require files. Make sure all files required for
installation are available, and restart the installation. Eddor code:
0x8007001f


things i will try tonight (not all at once ;-)

- remove 2gb of the ram
- remove a gtx
- partition the drive
- try installing drivers from the motherboard dvd pre installation
- maybe try turn off ide emulation and possible turn off raid??
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Before you do all that, search Google for:

Error code: 0x8007001f

Also, it could be something as simple as a dirty CD.
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

tried these and still no go.
- partitioned drive
- took out 2gb of ram
- took out 1 gtx
- installed the nforce sata_ide driver that came with the mobo

did a memory test on the 2gb and was fine.

are there any other drivers i should look at when get to installation too?
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

bugger, the error code was 0x8007045D...
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Does all your hardware support a 64 bit architecture?
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

i did wonder about that so i looked into it and all the hardware seems to support it.

- will try another dvd maybe it was a bad write.
- maybe some cables are dodgy.. probably not likely.
- maybe the drives.. doesn't seem to be though.
- bios update maybe..

im no hardware guru but i certainly learning a lot through this process ;-)

seems to be a fairly common issue that i have seen on a number of forums, but no real solutions.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 023586.htm

Shouldn't your processor be listed there if it's 64 bit compatible?
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

thanx but according to this page:
http://www.intel.com/products/processor ... _core2quad

clicked on the product brief pdf link says it supports the 64bit architecture

- will try install the 32 bit version though see if that helps.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yes, it does. I looked at that page before and I missed it.
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 661
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

finally installed... was a combination of bad dvd and ram.

with the new dvd it was installing further but crashing so i took out one of the ram chips and works perfectly.

thanx don for you input, much appreciated.

Cheers
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You're welcome. I'm glad the problem is solved.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 13 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.