WAMP not starting up

  • Bogey
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Posts: 8363
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I need to do some programming work, but my WAMP won't turn on correctly. The actual process turns on but the Apache (I think it is) isn't starting up with it.

The icon goes to the second step (the icon is yellow) and just stops there... if I go to 127.0.0.1 it's just a blank page... not sure what's going on here.

Any ideas?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9074
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Have you tried checking your Apache Error log which may give you the reasons why its not working. Right now it would just be guessing, getting the actual errors would help greatly if they exist.
  • Bogey
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Posts: 8363
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

There's nothing recent in the error log...

The only thing that seems a little weird is:

Quote:
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:02 2011] [warn] pid file C:/wamp/bin/apache/Apache2.2.11/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.11 (Win32) PHP/5.3.0 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Server built: Dec 10 2008 00:10:06
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Parent: Created child process 1944
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Child 1944: Child process is running
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Child 1944: Acquired the start mutex.
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Child 1944: Starting 64 worker threads.
[Thu Oct 20 23:42:03 2011] [notice] Child 1944: Starting thread to listen on port 80.

But it worked after the date of those notices and warning.
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9074
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

It sounds like it might be possible that the previous time you had Apache running it might have not shut down all the way and possibly still was having port 80 taken. When you started up Apache just now it may not be able to bind to port 80 if its not available. What I would recommend is trying to reboot to see if that fixes the problem. If you still have the problem after you reboot let me know and we can investigate more.
  • Bogey
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Posts: 8363
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

That was October 20... I've rebooted many times since then.

But I already tried that anyway and it didn't fix the problem.
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9074
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is it possible that you had tried to change your default php.ini file awhile back and this problem started after it? Can you think of anything that happened around the time this problem started? What sort of PHP modules do you have installed?
  • Bogey
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Posts: 8363
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I turned on the computer right now and it now works... not sure what it was or what was going on with it, but it now works for some reason.

Thanks for your help though.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 7 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.