When an ISP "takes over" your I.E. browser...

• jeannepo
  • Student
  • Student
  • jeannepo
  • Loc: Denver

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone can help me... I'm a PC tech, and have many of my clients, *recently*, contacting me with problems with their ISP "taking over" their I.E. and Outlook programs. For example: Earthlink and AOL. And... these clients cannot access some websites/downloads! It's like their I.E. has been hijacked and corrupted. I've tried "repairing" I.E., and that doesn't fix the problem. When I download another browser, like NS 7.1, everything works fine. (they can access the website or download)

Can anyone help me figure out how to help these people who've been invaded by their ISP's ?

Tx, Ozzu.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• LAbrego
  • brego from LA
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think that more than ISP's taking IE you have a few clients with spyware in their pc's. Try some of the spyware removal tool out there to see what happen. There's a lot of information around here in Ozzu about that.

Try this http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html on your clients pc and post your log here, we have some experts in spyware around here who can help you
  • Alkatr0z
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Alkatr0z
  • Loc: Adelaide, Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

Never used AOL but have heard lots about it. Doesn't it pretty much take over your computer anyway, I've heard they can be fairly restrictive..

Alkatr0z
  • jeannepo
  • Student
  • Student
  • jeannepo
  • Loc: Denver

Post 3+ Months Ago