Who Is network issue

  • jflynn
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jun 23, 2006
  • Posts: 2303
  • Loc: Baker City, Oregon
  • Status: Online

Post January 22nd, 2008, 4:17 pm

This is a question about an IP address.

My DSL gateway keeps getting hits from the following website / IP and I can't figure out where it is coming from. Anybody have an idea?

http://www.buy-a-bus-com
206.149.12.196.in-addr.arpa

Please help. Thanks.
Stand Up! STand Up and Shout!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post January 22nd, 2008, 4:17 pm

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 21, 2006
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY
  • Status: Offline

Post January 22nd, 2008, 5:25 pm

You just told us where it's coming from.

Administrative Contact:
Crawford, Shirley buyabus@BUY-A-BUS.COM
American International Motor Coach
5572 SR 133
Williamsburg, OH 45176
US
+1 513 625 3500

Technical Contact:
Hostmaster, Best Internet hostmaster@BEST.COM
345 E MIDDLEFIELD RD
MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA 94043-4003
US
+1 888 578 8222 fax: 123 123 1234
How do you know when a politician is lying? His mouth is moving.
  • jflynn
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jun 23, 2006
  • Posts: 2303
  • Loc: Baker City, Oregon
  • Status: Online

Post January 23rd, 2008, 8:52 am

what site did you use to look it up? The one I sed said that info wasn't found.
Stand Up! STand Up and Shout!
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Feb 11, 2004
  • Posts: 6741
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV
  • Status: Offline

Post January 23rd, 2008, 9:26 am

http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/index.jsp
‎"Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet." Maj. Gen. James Mattis
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post January 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

jflynn wrote:
what site did you use to look it up? The one I sed said that info wasn't found.


How did you enter it?
206.149.12.196.in-addr.arpa
of
206.149.12.196 ?

The second one will work on whois, the first one won't
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • jflynn
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jun 23, 2006
  • Posts: 2303
  • Loc: Baker City, Oregon
  • Status: Online

Post January 23rd, 2008, 2:07 pm

I actuly tried both.....neither worked. went to suggested site and it worked fine for me...guess I won't use tht site again.... thanks all
Stand Up! STand Up and Shout!
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 21, 2006
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY
  • Status: Offline

Post January 23rd, 2008, 4:40 pm

I use the whois command on my Unix box. It's better than trying to find the registrar with a browser.
How do you know when a politician is lying? His mouth is moving.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 7 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 185 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.