Windows XP install freezes at "Inspecting system hardwa

• Asteri
  • Born
  • Born
  • Asteri

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello everyone,

This is my first post (ever) in a tech support forum. I'm rather new to fiddling with hardware and software. I've done a bit of reading, and managed to put together a (working) system, and am leaving my old laptop at home with my dad. About a year and a half ago, he converted the laptop to a dual-boot Linux/Windows XP Pro system with a GRUB boot loader. Everything worked fine until today, when we decided to flatten the laptop so that it can be re-used by my family.

Laptop Specifications:
Dell Inspiron 5100, purchased May 2003
2.4Ghz Processor
512Mb RAM
30 GB Hard drive
ATI Radeon Mobility 5100
CD-R/RW/DVD drive (don't know what speed)
Used to run Windows XP Pro/Knoppix

We started this morning trying to boot up from the Windows XP Pro install disc that came with the system. The first disc we tried wasn't recognized by the system, so we tried an extra Windows XP Pro disc (the first disc was recognized in other machines). Upon bootup, the install proceeded to "Inspecting system hardware..." and then stopped, at a black screen, indefinitely.

A little research showed that this is apparently a known problem in systems with complex partitions, or Linux bootloaders. We followed some advice found from that search, and tried a Knoppix Boot-from-CD, but it wasn't recognized either. Another Linux Boot-from-CD was tried, and it was recognized, but we were unable to reformat with that disc.