Windows Vista crashing and very slow

  • alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 927
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

My computer is running very very slow and also it sometime goes to sleep like it just stops responding and the screen is freezed. If i leave it like that the computer becomes responsive in like 30 seconds to 1 minute but then whenever i try to run any programs or anything i again have to wait a considerable time like 3-4 minutes to wait before it actually process and lets me play the programs. I feel i might be infected with virus or it could be any hardware issue. Please help me diagnose this problem
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

In that case, the first thing I do is run msconfig and disable all under the startup tab. Reboot and say ok to the dialog box that appears. If it runs better, one of those programs is causing the problem.
  • alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 927
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

Done that. It did make the computer run smoother and faster but still sometimes it takes ages to load windows. And once it does get loaded there are freezing issues and other issues mentioned in the 1st post.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

The next thing to do is go into services and disable or set to manual any services that are not needed at boot time.

Also, uninstall any programs that you don't use any more.
  • deathblade
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 419
  • Loc: u.k

Post 3+ Months Ago

what are the specs of your computer? CPU ram?
  • alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 927
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

My specs arent good enough to run vista properly but still my computer used to run pretty well for me and not as bad as it is now.

My specs are:
AMD X2 Dual Core 4200+
768MB DDR-2 Ram
Nvidia Geforce 7100GS
580gb of harddisk space (2 sata 250 gb harddisks and 1 80gb)

By the way, i took out the ram, i have 2 by the way.. One is 256 and other is 512. I took both of them out, cleaned the dust on them and put them in different slots and then when i turned on my computer, it seems to be working better. Any chance that could have been the problem?

Another problem i am facing is that my Sony DVD-RW drive does not open when i press the button. I have to use that small hole and enter a pin inside to open it up to enter the CD's. Is there anyway i can fix this problem myself?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

I recommend upgrading your RAM as soon as possible. 768MB is not enough at all.

As for your DVD-RW, no idea.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yes, the RAM may have become unseated which can cause all kinds of problems.

I bought a Liteon DVD/CD RW from tigerdirect.com It came with Nero Express and it's been great. You might want to consider replacing your Sony with that.
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6252
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I also have a LiteOn CD/DVD RW drive and have yet to encounter any problems with it. I wouldn't think twice before buying another LiteOn drive.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 9 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.