www.windows-patch.info

  • joebert
  • Sledgehammer
  • Genius
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 10, 2004
  • Posts: 13455
  • Loc: Florida
  • Status: Offline

Post February 11th, 2004, 1:13 am

anyone know anything about this url ? google draws a blank.
http://www.windows-patch.info
[/img]
Strong with this one, the sudo is.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post February 11th, 2004, 1:13 am

  • whatlikesit12345
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Dec 22, 2003
  • Posts: 1215
  • Status: Offline

Post February 11th, 2004, 6:14 am

i wouldn't trust it. its for microsoft stuff. just go to microsoft and get the stuff. There is no way that your not going to get a virsus(sp) from that site.
  • Alkatr0z
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 08, 2004
  • Posts: 1883
  • Loc: Adelaide, Australia
  • Status: Offline

Post February 11th, 2004, 6:17 am

Okay I'm typing this message for the 3rd time so its fairly concise by this time.
1. The site is registered to Michael Burnham. Different address and name from the registered owner of securesoft.org. I don't know how hard it is to register a domain name using fake information though, other people here can probably answer that one.
2. It looks like the software is real. I still wouldn't buy it though as it I think its a waste of money.
3. Here is the actual MS bulletin regarding this problem:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-043.asp
4. If that doesn't work here is another link:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;828035
They present several workarounds as well as patches for it.
Hope that answers your questions.

Alkatr0z
  • Alkatr0z
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 08, 2004
  • Posts: 1883
  • Loc: Adelaide, Australia
  • Status: Offline

Post February 11th, 2004, 6:20 am

Lol and you've pipped me in 31 words whatlikesit12345
  • parklandspanaway
  • Born
  • Born
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Mar 22, 2004
  • Posts: 1
  • Status: Offline

Post March 22nd, 2004, 8:08 am

I did a whois lookup on http://www.windows-patch.info, and got the same information.

I also noticed that when I pinged the address and requested a hostname, I received this address:

tunacan.com

I think that Michael Burnham (or whoever is responsible for the popup message) is using a stolen IP address.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post March 22nd, 2004, 9:00 am

That message is similar to what gets sent in emails. Bottom line - never download a patch from anyplace other than Microsoft - period!

Like Alkotr0z said, get the real thing via the 2 links he provided or here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en


//btw -- did anyone happen to notice the URL that all those patch links take you to? -- https://www.securesoft.org/popupblock/o ... d=MS03-043
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • rjstephens
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 28, 2003
  • Posts: 774
  • Loc: Brisbane, Australia
  • Status: Offline

Post April 27th, 2004, 3:20 am

I looked up the IP address of that guy and he is somewhere in china. I have reported him to microsoft twice now. His net_sends ALWAYS happen at the worst possible times, and interrupt me at the worst possible times.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 7 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 217 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.