Another Pagerank question

• James95
  • Born
  • Born
  • James95

Post 3+ Months Ago

Im new to all of this so forgive the basicness of this question.
Is pagerank constantly changing in regards to the serps. If google picks up some links will my site immediately improve in the serps or will there be no improvement until they update PR.
TIA
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• rtchar
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Welcome James ...

Page Rank is simply a calculation reflecting the number and quality of links to your site. Links (and PR) is updated by Google more or less on a monthly basis (4-6 weeks).

Having a high PR does not guarantee placement in search results. It is only one of the 100+ factors that Google uses to determine the relevance of your site to any given search.

Try a search on http://www.webmasterbrain.com/prog and you will see. PR does not guarantee positioning.
  • discountdomains
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • discountdomains
  • Loc: Telford UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

True PR is updated everyday so the answer to questions is yes. The Toolbar PR only updates every 4 weeks to a month.

In my experience its more important to focus on the theme of the page and using your keywords in anchor text e.g Domain Name Registration

than to worry about PR in its own right.

Clare
  • rtchar
  • Expert
  • Expert

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
True PR is updated everyday

This is not very likely ... PR can only be calculated from a snap shot of the web at any given time. You cannot calculate PR for a page until you have calculated the PR for every incoming link. If there are any back links on the page it can increase the PR of the incoming link ... so they have to be calculated again.

That is why back links and PR lag behind.

Some of the other 100+ factors relating to content are updated each time your site is crawled, and of course each time your competition is crawled.
  • nuclei
  • Graduate