While it is not confirmed, there is much speculation on what is believed that DP is banned from Google Adsense. On their own boards there is a multi-page thread discussing the issue:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=1368731If you take a look at any of their threads you will notice the spot that shows a Google Adsense ad is blank. If you look at the source or right click on the area and view properties you will see that the Adsense code block is still there. On further investigation by their members, if you load their ad block from a proxy domain the ads show again. This seems to confirm that the Google Adsense account isn't banned, but the digitalpoint domain may be.
So why is this happening? There could be numerous reasons, but everything so far is speculation as nothing has been confirmed by any official source.
As you may or may not know the Digital Point Forums use a form Adsense Revenue sharing for its members. What this means is that when you post a topic, 50% of the views of that topic will show the thread starters Google Adsense ad if they have one. In that way the revenue is split between the topic starter and DP. Is this allowed? According to the owner of DP, Shawn Hogan, he read through all of the Google Adsense TOS and found nothing that said it couldn't be done. So that could be very well true. This means that DP is showing ads for probably thousands and thousands of different Google Adsense accounts. Doing something like this could encourage members of the board to self-click ads or form groups of members on the board who click each others ads for bloating earnings. While this may or may not be going on, its possible that something like this could be responsible for the entire domain of digitalpoint to be banned or temporarily banned if it is out of control. Or maybe Google doesn't like it when one domain is showing ads from numerous Adsense accounts? So instead of banning the accounts they just ban the problem domain.
Again this is just more speculation, but another thing that has occurred to me is all of the spam and signature spam going on over there. There are alot of questionable users over there that in my opinion can severely degrade the type of traffic the board receives and thus the type of traffic clicking on the ads. Could this lead to a ban from Google Adsense? I am not sure. Maybe its possible that the quality of the board is in a state that Google doesn't want to be a part of anymore for its advertisers.
If you look at Shawn Hogan's personal website blog:
http://www.shawnhogan.com/and view the source you will notice that it appears his Wordpress blog has been hacked. It is littered with spam. Here is a screenshot in case it has changed since I have posted this:
Is it possible that something like this could ban the adsense ads if both websites are on the same server or using similiar IP addreses? The site is definetely linking to questionable content (only because it was hacked).
If you take a look at wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shawn_HoganIt mentions in there that Shawn was once sued from the MPAA for downloading via a BitTorrent network
Meet the Fockers and in August of 2008 he was sued from eBay. Ebay file suit for defrauding of eBay and eBay affiliates in a cookie stuffing scheme.
Is it possible that Google doesn't want to affiliate with websites such as this where the owner has been involved in questionable practices in the past? Maybe all of the elements above has played a role in their decision?
Overall it seems that there could be many factors in what has caused a ban or temporary ban of Google Adsense ads being displayed there. I have heard numerous reports in the past of other website owners having their ads blocked as well, but never really from a website as large as Digital Point.
What are your thoughts on this? Do you think DP is in fact banned? Do you think DP should or should not be banned from displaying Google Adsense ads?