PR google ?

  • glenglen66
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 31
  • Loc: UK - London

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi all new to this site and you all seem a lot better at web design thatn me but i wiling to learn to get my site to a good hit result. From reading various post it seems that if i manage to get links to my web site this will increase my pr.

My question is that i have found many relvant sites which have a pr of around /4 and they have no links? What else can i do to boost my pr rating?

I currently come up on google but only if i search "the london extension company" and the site only comes up on page 4/5. Also my pr currently is only at 1.

Im guessing this has been asked before but it would be nice to get the pr to 3-5 and also come up as #1 if i search "the london extension company"

Thanks in advanced,

Glen.

Please feel free to look at the site but the current version is only a very wip version so don't be to harsh as i know the layout and the text formatting is a mess. All constructive comments would be very welcome as i will be first to spot mistakes or sloppiness within a site.

http://www.thelondonextensioncompany.com
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • James95
  • Born
  • Born
  • James95
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

Google only lists links with a PR of 4+. So they probably have links that arent showing up when you search.
  • john5269
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • john5269
  • Posts: 198

Post 3+ Months Ago

Where did you get that information from that Google only lists pages that has a pr 4+

I don't think that is true.
  • beefcakejcc
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • beefcakejcc
  • Posts: 103
  • Loc: Atlanta,GA

Post 3+ Months Ago

It used be that when you put in a link:www.yourdomain.com search only pages with PR4 and up would come up. But now I'm seeing some PR3 in the results.
  • vetofunk
  • A SEO GUY
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2245
  • Loc: Chicago

Post 3+ Months Ago

You need to do some research on what keywords are best for your site.
http://inventory.overture.com/d/searchi ... uggestion/
Use the major keywords in your title, description and content. Your title should always use your best keywords and put the company name at the end. You should have a different title tag and description tag on every page. Use H1 tags whenever possible.

It doesn't look like the rest of your site is getting spidered and PR is not being passed. You may want to add some text links at the bottom of the page that lead to the other pages in your site.

Your site is fairly new so it may take awhile. Get directory listings including DMOZ and Yahoo. Do searches to get relevant links from other sites which are in your industry.

Read more in Ozzu ;-)
  • glenglen66
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 31
  • Loc: UK - London

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi all thanks for the help so far,

so if i notepad edit and add some links in the format below this will help the google spider my whole site? -

http://www.thelondonextensioncompany.com/links.htm

Sorry for the noobie questions but i know a little but not much really.

:lol:
  • nuclei
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: On a mountain

Post 3+ Months Ago

john5269 wrote:
Where did you get that information from that Google only lists pages that has a pr 4+

I don't think that is true.


Actually it was quite true up til a couple months ago when google seemed to shake things up some. Now apparently we are also seeing links that will be GOING to PR4+ in the next update. Some think it is a good indicater for the PR3 links you may see in a link: query now.
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 796

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey glenglen66...
"so if i notepad edit and add some links in the format below this will help the google spider my whole site?"

Since your navigation is done in flash it will be imposible for any spider to follow those links. I would do 3 things:
1. On your links page add a link to every page in your site...called a "site map" this will help in getting those pages in the index.

2. At the bottom of every page...or at least the main sections...create footer links that link back to the main sections of your site...this will help with PR on those internal pages.

3. Get links to your site from other sites and use the links page on your site to return links to sites that require a link in return.

Read up on anchor text so that you get the maximum benefit from your incomming and internal links.
  • 2003m2003
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • 2003m2003
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

nuclei wrote:

Now apparently we are also seeing links that will be GOING to PR4+ in the next update. Some think it is a good indicater for the PR3 links you may see in a link: query now.


Is that mean Google give more value to PR3 link now, early some webmasters accept only PR4 or above link, now it seeem PR3 also important..
  • marengo
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • marengo
  • Posts: 52

Post 3+ Months Ago

May be someone knows how often Google updates these links?

For http://www.bestcatalog.net I've paid for links on
http://www.aqua-soft.org (5/10)
articles on hardwaregeeks.com something like http://www.hardwaregeeks.com/articles.p ... rticle=275 (4/10)
http://www.[Banned Domain]/ (4/10)
http://www.webmasterarena.com/ (4/10)
included on 4design.tv - all pages (5/10)
http://www.website.to/script/php-scripts/ (5/10)

but Google doesn't read them :(

"bestcatalog.net" --> Results ... of about 1,120 for "bestcatalog.net".
"www.bestcatalog.net" ---> Results ... of about 348 for "www.bestcatalog.net".

link:bestcatalog.net --->nothing

Nat
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 796

Post 3+ Months Ago

If you download the google toolbar you can look at the cached page from the last time google visited those sites....if your link is on that cached page you should receive a baclink on the next backlink/PR update....
  • marengo
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • marengo
  • Posts: 52

Post 3+ Months Ago

wow: I have Google toolbar but didn't know about cached pages... thanks
Nat
  • jaydeep
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 12
  • Loc: India

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
wow: I have Google toolbar but didn't know about cached pages


Click on toolbar's "Options" button and select "Page Info. Menu" then you will see blue button on your tool bar, click on that and select first option - "Cached Snapshot of Page."

I hope this is helpful.
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 796

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can also get to the cached snapshot if you right click on the page and select "cached snapshot" from the pop up menu.
  • marengo
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • marengo
  • Posts: 52

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey, I've found this tool when phaugh has told me that's useful. Just before I've disabled "Page Info menu" opton.

All is so interesting in seo, I must say :)
Nat

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 15 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.