Just don't get it

• Grogger
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Grogger

Post 3+ Months Ago

Newbie here, so don't flame me too bad if I'm breaking any rules.

Try this search in Google: march madness

Someone PLEASE explain to me how the #5 ranked page out of 2,480,000 is this one:

http://www.provide.net/~brewpaul/

About to pull out what's left of my hair!!! :x
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Cibok
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Cibok

Post 3+ Months Ago

It has a DMOZ listning with that keyprhaze in it!
http://dmoz.org/Sports/Basketball/Fan_Pages/
  • vetofunk
  • A SEO GUY
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Chicago

Post 3+ Months Ago

His PageRank is very high and if you look at his cached site, that term is only found on links pointing to his site. I am guessing he has dozens of sites pointing to him with the term "march madness" in the anchor text. These two mixed together can get you to great positioning.

An example:
Search for "miserable failure"

You think the #1 site has that term in any part of the site?....no.
Its all because of incoming links and high Pagerank.
  • Grogger
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Grogger

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for your responses.

OK, I understand that DMOZ listings can greatly affect rankings. However, the page has nothing to do with March Madness. No text. No meta. No links. NO NOTHING.

The last time it did (according to archive.org) was Nov. of 1992. So is Google ignoring the irrelevance of the page when crawling it and just defaulting to the fact that its on DMOZ?
  • vetofunk
  • A SEO GUY
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can always report to DMOZ that this page has nothing do to with March Madness and is password protected.

You should be able to do this at http://www.resource-zone.com.
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago