Newbie Needs Help Badly

• UVBoy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: London, Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello - I'm new at SEO and with forums (hope this has landed in the right spot) and I'm looking for advice to make sure I spend my time on the right things in order to optimize my google organic search.

I own a web-based business that sells drinking water purification systems for homes: http://www.aquatell.com
I have what I believe is a nice-looking site and I also believe that I have relevant content. Problem is I'm getting very little traffic and seeing no sales.

I'm not one of these guys who thought I could just make a nice-looking site and I'd become an instant millionaire - I knew it would take a lot of work. I'm becoming very frustrated though by the seeming lack of consistent advice. I'm ready to invest the time and money but I'm just not sure where my best bang for the buck lies. I'm also not sure if I've taken the right approach to this point.

Here's what I've done so far:
- used wordtracker to select my keywords
- used WebPosition 4 to optimize my homepage for my main keywords/phrases (specifically Page Critic)
- submitted my website to about a dozen directories including yahoo and DMOZ

I'm struggling most with the validity of WebPosition (can I really trust it to accurately evaluate my pages?) and I'm also finding it hard to get a straight answer on how long I should wait for results before I abandon my approach and try something new.

ANY constructive feedback would be greatly appreciated. THANK YOU!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• willyfoo
  • Born
  • Born
  • willyfoo

Post 3+ Months Ago

SEO optimisation is not just a 1 time affair.. to really be good, you would need regular checks and updates..

Exchanging links with good sites with good PR is just one of those you've missed out.
  • Steven D
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Steven D

Post 3+ Months Ago