This site may harm your computer.

  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post August 16th, 2007, 10:36 am

How interesting. First time I had seen this. Was searching a normal everyday topic and came to a search result that took me to a google page that said "This site may harm your computer". When I went back to search results, I noticed a link under the result I just clicked which led me to this explanation

I didn't know they were doing that.
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post August 16th, 2007, 10:36 am

  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Sep 22, 2003
  • Posts: 6130
  • Loc: Seattle, WA
  • Status: Offline

Post August 16th, 2007, 12:40 pm

Interesting... I've never seen that before. Any idea how long it's been around?
The Beer Monocle. Classy.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post August 16th, 2007, 1:26 pm

No. Just saw it for the first time today. Of all things too the search and the link I clicked were just for Flash Wedding Templates. I was actually pretty impressed that Google did that, but then I asked myself, well why don't they just remove the link entirely.

Some interesting reading under this google search
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Sep 22, 2003
  • Posts: 6130
  • Loc: Seattle, WA
  • Status: Offline

Post August 16th, 2007, 1:33 pm

I wonder what kind of techniques they use to determine what sites could be harmful. My guess is that they don't automatically filter potential threats because of the chance of accidentally removing legitimate sites.
The Beer Monocle. Classy.
  • joebert
  • Sledgehammer
  • Genius
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 10, 2004
  • Posts: 13455
  • Loc: Florida
  • Status: Offline

Post August 17th, 2007, 12:04 am

Alright, somthing new to hijack browsers with to keep people away from your competition !

How long untill THAT becomes known ?
  • vetofunk
  • A SEO GUY
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jan 27, 2004
  • Posts: 2253
  • Loc: Chicago
  • Status: Offline

Post August 17th, 2007, 5:47 am

Yeah, I have seen it on a few sites. A friend of mine was working on his buddies site and I pointed it out to him. He was trying to figure it out as the site was just a tanning site, nothing to harm your computer...I could think of anyway. Possibly something in the code?

Here is some info from Matt Cutts on it:
http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/info-abou ... peal-them/
  • joebert
  • Sledgehammer
  • Genius
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 10, 2004
  • Posts: 13455
  • Loc: Florida
  • Status: Offline

Post August 17th, 2007, 7:44 am

Nice info vetofunk.

Good to see he's yet to see a false positive.
Strong with this one, the sudo is.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 7 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.