(Q) Best ways to get a website spidered

• Marqi
  • Loc: Detroit

Post 3+ Months Ago

Does anyone have any advice about the best way to get a website spidered by various search engines? I am a newbie to SEO/SEM but I am learning fast. I also am new to this message board, so any cool networking or help is very appreciated.

also., does the robots.txt have anything to do with it? I placed one on my server, but just used the "*" so all can spider.

Thank you in advance

Shannon
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Jess
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

the best way to get spiders visiting your web site is to get lots of links pointing at it.

Spiders work by following links - so logic says the more links you have pointing at your site the better chance you have of being found by the search engines.
  • Marqi
  • Loc: Detroit

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanx Jess, so does blogging and posting on forums count as well???
  • Jess
  • Guru
  • Guru

Post 3+ Months Ago

Marqi wrote:
Thanx Jess, so does blogging and posting on forums count as well???

Absolutely :)

Make use of directories as well - there are some great directories that offer free links or one time payments.

http://www.blueangels.net is a good source for directories.
  • madmonk
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • madmonk
  • Loc: australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

A high activity site will get your site spidered fast too! :-)
  • rajputkashyap
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,
one of my page is not being crawled since 9th march 2004, I have checked for errors with Webbug, but it shows OK 200., Well links from homepage and other pages..., other site pages crawl almost regularly

the page is : http://www.tvaproductions.com/html/body ... overs.html

Quote:
Jess, This is not the site I was talking about you

I have checked robots.txt, but there is no exclusion for this page

Cant get why this page is not being indexed

Please help

kashyap