Layers good for Search Engines?

• mr_darek
  • Expert
  • Expert

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would like to hear feedback on wether or not layers in an HTML document is considered OK by search engines when it comes to spidering the document.

As far as I am aware, it should be fine, however, I am not an SEO expert.

Would like to hear from those that are. :)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• mr_darek
  • Expert
  • Expert

Post 3+ Months Ago

Bah, should have been more clear as to what I was getting at (sorry).

If most of the copy is within a layer in the HTML document...is THAT ok with Search Engines and spidering.
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago

Can you post the url?
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago

As long as the layer is visible....it should be ok
  • i_am_dhaval
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • i_am_dhaval
  • Loc: INDIA

Post 3+ Months Ago

u will never use layer in html
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago

"u will never use layer in html"...what? I do it all the time...show em, hide em, make em fly across the screen...they work great!
  • i_am_dhaval
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • i_am_dhaval
  • Loc: INDIA

Post 3+ Months Ago

what is the minig of layer?
give one exa,ple
plese
  • rtm223
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Uk

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, the original meaning of layer would be:
Code: [ Select ]
<layer></layer>

whih I think was netscape only, and does not validate. Now the word "layer" generally refers to the div tag:
Code: [ Select ]
<div></div>

I use divs as the primary structure for my sites, and this is the future of html, just as soon as people get round to seeing how dumb tables are.

There is no reason why any SE would penalise for using them. It's valid html, and easilly parsed.
  • phaugh
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago