Lycos Retriever: stealing your search engine traffic?

  • chris911
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 01, 2004
  • Posts: 47
  • Loc: London UK
  • Status: Offline

Post February 2nd, 2006, 2:33 pm

Unique content is crucial to SEO. When another website copies / plagiarises your own unique content, it is not always obvious to search engines which site is copying the content of which. Especially when one site is big, the other not so big.

Lycos Retriever does exactly that. It copies content from other keyword rich sites like yours and mine, stealing traffic that the smaller sites might otherwise get.

My website clearly has a copyright © symbol on it, yet Lycos has chosen to ignore it. I'm horrified. It's completely out of order. I emailed them yesterday demanding they remove my text (and photos), but have yet to have a response.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post February 2nd, 2006, 2:33 pm

  • LittleEarner
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jan 20, 2006
  • Posts: 18
  • Loc: England, UK
  • Status: Offline

Post February 6th, 2006, 2:23 am

I'll be very interested to hear your results. Are they not linking to your site/content?

Dan
  • chris911
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 01, 2004
  • Posts: 47
  • Loc: London UK
  • Status: Offline

Post February 22nd, 2006, 3:57 pm

They hadn't linked to my site - they just pinched the content. Well cheeky. It's been removed now, I'll be keeping an eye out for them in future...
  • elihuvedder
  • Born
  • Born
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jul 20, 2006
  • Posts: 1
  • Status: Offline

Post July 20th, 2006, 7:55 pm

Lycos Retriever doesn't steal anyone's content.

There is a link to every page from which content is excerpted on the left. Mousing over it shows the full URL and title. Different presentation, but essentially no different than Google. Well within Fair Use.

See, for example,King Kong
(1933): http://www.lycos.com/info/king-kong-1933.html,
Zoloft: http://www.lycos.com/info/zoloft.html,
Public-Key Cryptography:
http://www.lycos.com/info/public-key-cryptography.html ,
Lyme Disease: http://www.lycos.com/info/lyme-disease.html,
Reggaeton: http://www.lycos.com/info/reggaeton.html
  • chris911
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 01, 2004
  • Posts: 47
  • Loc: London UK
  • Status: Offline

Post October 28th, 2007, 6:40 pm

18 months later, cheeky lycos is at it again, stealing content from my websites. Elihuvedder points out that they link to the sites they copy, but this is an indirect link (via hotbot). Completely out of order. I've emailed them again.
  • Steven D
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Aug 26, 2007
  • Posts: 263
  • Status: Offline

Post November 19th, 2007, 5:43 pm

just block the IP address from your web server.
Daily B2B Deals
Daily Business to Business Deals
  • starguru
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jun 27, 2004
  • Posts: 2
  • Loc: London
  • Status: Offline

Post January 29th, 2008, 8:29 pm

I can't beleive Ive just noticed this pile of crap website, it should be banned from search engines, its nothing more than a black hat seo scraper site.

I noticed that all their internal links are html but the links to other sites listed are unspiderable crap,

eg

http ......//click.hotbot.com/director.asp?site=www.lycos.com&partner=&start_group=retriever_topic&id=1&keys=&target=http://www.scrapedwebsitenamehere.com

so first the link out is to hotbot, then back to lycos then out to the site

Ive checked with some sites listed there and there is no backlink from lycos retriever, the link cant be spidered and they know it, this site was built by black hat seo experts, if it was my site it would have been banned from google by now, but just cos they have the name Lycos to make them look all respectable, just plain thieves, without any real ideas or innovations so just decide to steal other peoples content and traffic
  • starguru
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jun 27, 2004
  • Posts: 2
  • Loc: London
  • Status: Offline

Post January 29th, 2008, 8:36 pm

BLIMEY - now when I read this again I can see more - lycos are actually black hat seo spammers - god !

Elihuvedder has joined and made one post on20th July just to link to his black hat scraper site, GOD,, how the mighty have fallen...Lycos - from tv adversiing multi million pound giant to black hat seo scraper sites.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.