Search Engine Optimization

• Portage
  • Portage
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello all. I am new to OZZU. Have enjoyed reading all the threads and have been trying to learn from what I have read.

I started a commercial website back in March of this year that was hosted in my personal webspace provided with my internet account. I have since moved the site off to a proper host (August) and have also learned about page ranking from searching the web and finding this site. My site currently is generating a page rank of 2, and a ranking of 399 in google for my main search word (cannas).

I know the site is a little rough, with a few minor problems, but I was wondering if there is something more that I could do to improve the ranking of my site (hopefully a PR4) and my increase the odds that my site will pop up when someone is doing a search for the word cannas? I do have a few backlinks on fairly well ranked sites (PR4 +) but Google only seems to recognize/list 2 of them. Also I am planning to redo the site for 2005 and was wondering if it would be advisable to use a main page with a link OSCommerce to create a store for listing the plants.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

Guildwood Cannas & Tropicals
http://www.guildwoodcannas.com
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• discountdomains
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • discountdomains
  • Loc: Telford UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

PR has very little to do with your ranking on Google.

What does make a difference:-

a) Use of your keywords on anchor text links from related sites
b) Good content, including your keywords in your text
c) Use of keywords in Title Tag
d) Listing in Dmoz
e) Listing in directories:-

http://www.allthebizz.com/resources.php has a list of free ones, and paid ones (the paid have a stronger effect - partly why they are paid!)

Clare
  • vetofunk
  • A SEO GUY
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Chicago

Post 3+ Months Ago