Search engine ready?

• Swan
  • Student
  • Student
  • Loc: Idaho

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello all!

I am new at this, I have the site ready to go, so I think :shock: . How does one know if it is search engine ready, and won't be passed over by the "crawler"?

Is there a "website checker" online one can go to to make sure everything is ok?

Thanks!!

Swan
  • gardenstew
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Malmö, Sweden

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try this

http://www.gritechnologies.com/tools/spider.go

Use the 'Diagnostics View' option, this will provide you with warnings if your page is not search engine ready.
  • Swan
  • Student
  • Student

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks stew!

What does this mean? Warning: No h1, h2 or h3 Headings were found.

The thing "looked" at it's self first and had the same thing. Anything to worry about? Is there somthing in particular I am to look for?

Swan
  • gardenstew
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Malmö, Sweden

Post 3+ Months Ago

Search engines rank the text in H1,H2 etc.. tags over other forms of text on a page e.g. text in P tags. I recommend putting keyphrases that describe your site into the H1, H2 tags etc... or use the Hx tags when putting header text on sections of a page (thats what they are originally for anyway)

By the way if you are worried about the text looking too big through for example a H1 tag you can use CSS to specifiy a smaller font size for the H1 tag.

I wouldn't worry about the site itself getting warnings, they just don't use Hx tags, that's all.
  • Swan
  • Student
  • Student

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks Stew! You have been a big help!! I appreciate it!!

Swan
  • madmonk
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • madmonk
  • Loc: australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

have you done your keyword research?
- try overture suggestion tool

Targetting your market is prolly the most important step of all.