All of a sudden there was like 300 guests. Naturally I thought these were the bots. So I looked into the whois online from the admin section. And all the bots were generated from the above IP blocks. Which was ok. The disturbing fact was that they all were seemingly trying to log in and post a message. This is how it looks in the phpbb admin:
........................etc. etc. over 300 hits in a minute.
So I assumed someone was trying to run a brute force password hack. I instantly blocked the two ip ranges with htaccess and did a search in the whois for the IPs. This is what they say:
% This is the RIPE Whois query server #2.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See
http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.htmlinetnum: 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255
netname: IANA-BLK
descr: The whole IPv4 address space
country: EU # Country is really world wide
org: ORG-IANA1-RIPE
admin-c: IANA1-RIPE
tech-c: IANA1-RIPE
status: ALLOCATED UNSPECIFIED
remarks: The country is really worldwide.
remarks: This address space is assigned at various other places in
remarks: the world and might therefore not be in the RIPE database.
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-lower: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-routes: RIPE-NCC-RPSL-MNT
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20010529
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20020625
changed:
hostmaster@ripe.net 20031014
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20040422
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20040504
source: RIPE
organisation: ORG-IANA1-RIPE
org-name: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
org-type: IANA
address: see
http://www.iana.orgremarks: The IANA allocates IP addresses and AS number blocks to RIRs
remarks: see
http://www.iana.org/ipaddress/ip-addresses.htmremarks: and
http://www.iana.org/assignments/as-numberse-mail:
bitbucket@ripe.netadmin-c: IANA1-RIPE
tech-c: IANA1-RIPE
mnt-ref: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20040417
source: RIPE
role: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
address: see
http://www.iana.org.
e-mail:
bitbucket@ripe.netadmin-c: IANA1-RIPE
tech-c: IANA1-RIPE
nic-hdl: IANA1-RIPE
remarks: For more information on IANA services
remarks: go to IANA web site at
http://www.iana.org.
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-MNT
changed:
bitbucket@ripe.net 20010411
source: RIPE
A google search reveals that the IP range is associated with SLURP(yahoo bot) in other web site's logs. Well if it was the Yahoo bot then it was certainly behaving mighty strangely!!!
So can any one shade any light on who really owns this IP ranges? And what could be the cause for such strange behaviors.