Who is on my IP?!?

• vision
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

Some time ago (years ago?) I found a website that would list all websites operating on an ipaddress.

You type in the IP and get a list of websites on that address. This was ideal for seeing who is on your IP for the purposes of search engine stuff... gotta know who is around you.

Anyone know of a site like this?
  • reaper
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: europe

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
Some time ago (years ago?) I found a website that would list all websites operating on an ipaddress.

I don't think it's possible (but i am not an expert) to have multiple website domain names on a single ip because how would the DNS server request process tell the diffrence between those multiple sites?

For instance MYDOMAIN.COM has the ip 215.132.165.12 and YOURDOMAIN.COM also has 215.132.165.12 how would this be handled?

DNS wise this isn't possible i think, but once again i am not an expert. Maybe you are refering to a site that looks up an ip of a SINGLE website domain that you enter?
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

reaper wrote:
I don't think it's possible (but i am not an expert) to have multiple website domain names on a single ip because how would the DNS server request process tell the diffrence between those multiple sites?

Of course it's possible. You can have an unlimited number of hostnames pointing to an IP address. You can only have one hostname on REVERSE DNS (that is, you can only have an IP address resolving to 1 hostname), but you can have unlimited hostnames resolving to an IP address.

reaper wrote:
For instance MYDOMAIN.COM has the ip 215.132.165.12 and YOURDOMAIN.COM also has 215.132.165.12 how would this be handled?

Your Computer : Hey what's the IP address for mydomain.com?
DNS Server : It's 215.132.165.12
Your Computer : Ok, so what's the IP address for yourdomain.com?