Generating traffic

• peachy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Japan

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am very new to website development and over the past two months I can say that I have learned more than I ever thought I would. A lot of that knowledge has come from this forum. However, over the past two or three weeks I have found myself increasingly just looking at my website numbers. Of course, my numbers are quite pitiful...maybe 10 unique visitors a day or something like that. This morning I was reminded of an old college professor of strategic management who used to say that many companies fall behind because they get too busy looking in the mirror and they forget about their core business i.e. selling their products and developing/innovating new products. Well, that sounds a lot like what I have been doing. I'm just looking at the numbers, hoping that another visitor comes and I'm not doing anything to create more content, which is my core business. In the end I believe that I can take several steps to increase my traffic but content will be number one thing that will drive people to my site. Of course though, I'm quite lazy and I'm not superman so I must develop a system where visitors are generating most of my content...Something a lot like this forum. Of course, getting numbers like this forum must be quite a challenging task. Plus, the administrators here seem to work quite hard to participate in most threads. Another option would be to allow visitors to submit articles to be published on my site. There are probably alot more options too.

So here is my first question. When Ozzu first started how did they generate traffic? Did the owners just have tons of friends and got all of their friends to join? Was it a slow process for Ozzu...starting with very few posts and slowly growing to the thousands we see today?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• meman
  • Web Master
  • Web Master