Recommendations and experiences with Google Adwords

• dr nick
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • dr nick
  • Loc: Frankfurt

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,

I'm about to start developing a website for a medium sized business in an attempt to promote their webpresence.

I have some experience with search engine optimization, but was wondering how much sense it would make to start with google adwords within the first few months before pages start ranking well in google results.

Can anyone provide a plus/minus list of their experiences with google adwords?

Many thanks in advance to all those who participate!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

When I first started, I used Google Adwords to promote this forum. It definetely cost some upfront money, but it did bring in much targeted traffic which helped the forum grow and obtain some content so that it can finally get targeted traffic on its own from the search engines. I think I used Google Adwords for about 1.5 months until things got rolling good. I probably spent about $150.00 to $200.00.
  • pompei
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • pompei

Post 3+ Months Ago

Google Adwords Pluses:
Gets a lot of traffic fast

Google Adwords Minuses:
Traffic ain't cheap

Google Adwords plus:
You can really optimize which keywords should display your ads, so you can actually reduce what you pay per click if you're more interested in finely targetted traffic.

Bottom line for me:
For big general keywords you may pay a lot per visitors, so concentrate on niche keywords that your site is really good at.
  • john5269
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • john5269

Post 3+ Months Ago

Google Adwords is a very good way of receive highly targeted traffic to your site, but never spend more money that what you think you may get back from your site in return.