Camera advice

• musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: up a tree

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hullo.

I want to buy my first digital SLR and I was planning on getting the Nikon D80 but the price is too expensive. I've found the Canon EOS 400D for under $1000aud and it comes with two lenses http://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/prod4230.htm - I'm no photo pro, do you think this is a good camera and lens package?

I've read some reviews and it appears to have all the things I want.

Your advice?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Merlyn
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Oregon

Post 3+ Months Ago

First of all, yes that is a great DSLR! It's tough to say whether that's a great deal or not because you could probably shop around and buy all of the parts separately for a little under $950 (although I'm thinking in U.S. Dollars - but the USD is worth just slightly more than the AUD). Just doing a quick product search on google you can find the two camera body for around 490-600$ and the two lenses for about 250$

Although when you count in the currency difference it's probably right around 950$, plus you would be getting it all from one place with a 12 month warranty. So I think if you were really concerned about the price then you could probably find it cheaper by buying the parts separately but at only a minimal advantage.

I think you're better off going with the package deal that you found because it comes with the two lenses and the warranty.

Hope that helps.
  • musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks Merlyn,

The thing I liked about this place was they have two physical stores as well as sell online and I have spoken to people on the phone from both stores and both very helpful. I also like that it comes with the battery and charger which is helpful.