Image loss a mystery

• smickel
  • Born
  • Born
  • smickel

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have been shooting with a Canon DSLR for over 5 years. Recently I shot a wedding (I was refered to the couple by another photographer that was already booked) They were very happy that my services for 4 hours of shooting would only cost them $650. (CHEAP!)

I arrived at the site of the wedding and got me gear ready. It was overcast and raining very lightly. I took some test shots to ensure my flash was set accurately and after taking the tests I turned my camera off. As the ceremony started I turned it back on and shot all the photos, checking my preview screen regularly to ensure I go the shot. Directly after the ceremony I did some formal family portraits and a group shot. I took quite a few group shots because I kept seeing the bride look away in the preview. I then turned the camera off again. I turned it back on for the formal portraits of the bride and groom and continued to shoot until they sat down for dinner.

I was horrified to find out that a huge portion of the images weren't recorded. Upon downloading and using recovery software all I could retrieve were the test shots I took prior to the ceremony, the formal shots fo the newly weds and the reception. The ceremony, the formal family shots and various others taken at during the same time period were not there. I ended up losing all the money, the bride and groom are treating me like I wanted this to happen, and although I should just get past it, I can't. What happened? No one seems to know and it's driving me crazy. Is it possible for the Camera to decide "Not" to write the images to the card? I saw them on the preview screen so I assumed they were captured. Nothing was turned up by the Sandisk Recovery Pro Software and it is really bothering me. Does anyone have any insight??
  • Ishii
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Ishii
  • Loc: Gilbert, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago