Photo Equipment and How to Achieve Good Photographs with Proper Lighting

• fcsnapshot
  • Born
  • Born
  • fcsnapshot

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi everyone, I know this has probably been ask many times so please forgive me for asking again.

I'm a newbie into the photography world and would like some recommendations on lens and lighting to purchase. I'm starting off with a beginners camera: Canon Rebel XTI. Along with the kit lens, I purchase a 50mm F-1.8 II lens. What, I'm trying to do is these amazing shots I've seen other photographers do. The sexy black and white photos. Here are some of pictures I found:
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.c ... ID=3585000
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.c ... ID=3681824

How does this photographer achieve this? I've sent several emails to the photographer without any replies. Please offer any recommendations.

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• neksus
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

That's not so much camera equipment as it is lighting equipment. On a crop-sensored camera that looks to be roughly a ~20-25 focal length shot.

The first shot was done with heavy back-lighting and what looks to be an accent light directly perpendicular to each side of the model from the neck down.

The second shot looks to have been lit with a light slightly off to the models left and up a few feet.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

The author of the images even gives the clue in the second link posted that the effect is really just lighting.

Quote:
Playing with light

neksus, that's a pretty good analysis of the lighting. The first one was pretty obvious with the heavy back-lighting the second was a little tougher.
  • fcsnapshot
  • Born
  • Born
  • fcsnapshot

Post 3+ Months Ago