Problems with RAW images

• mtg131g
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • mtg131g

Post 3+ Months Ago

having a problem with the pixelating on RAW images and i dont know why or how to correct this problem

• Impel GD
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Impel GD
  • Loc: Cologne, Germany

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you mean noise? Was the image taken in low light conditions, and is this a small part of an image?
  • mtg131g
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • mtg131g

Post 3+ Months Ago

This is the whole image reduced for ozzu. yes it was taken at dawn and I think AXE told me how to correct this situation by increasing the ISO speed and it was set lower at 200 and i increased it to 1600 and i think it will work great the next time i try that shot. do you have any other suggestion?

mtg
  • Impel GD
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Impel GD

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm no pro, but here's how I understand things:

If you increase your ISO rating, your low light shots will have shorter shutter times (avoiding motion blur) but more noise. A lower ISO rating will avoid noise, but shutter times will be higher.

Take the same shot at varying ISO and shutter times and compare to get a good idea.
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Didn't see this thread, so I'll nuke my post from the other thread and put it here...

---

Definitely check your settings. I don't know if the Rebels have an "Auto ISO" (the D100, D70 and Nikon DSLRs doo), but turn that off.

I rarely shoot higher than ISO400, and when I do, I definitely run it all through Noise Ninja or NeatImage.

// Quick Edit. I just ran the shot you took above through Noise Ninja. This is VERY rough, just using the Nikon D100 profiles (it'd be much better quality with the original full size image, knowing the ISO that the shot was taken at, and the body of camera), but you can see there's a big improvement here.