anyone for cron?

• buzzby_247
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • buzzby_247

Post 3+ Months Ago

i have searched for cronjob, crontab tutorials but none seem to make any sense to me. needless to say i have never used this before. i need to download a product xml feed (images and descriptions) from a remote server and upload it to another server. this has to be done once a week. i was told that cron does this. the details need to be downloaded then uploaded to the database. reading tutorials on this makes no sense to me. its like describing the colour purple to someone who has been blind from birth. i refuse to believe that it is so difficult that i cant get it. www[.]pantz[.org]/software/cron/croninfo[.html] just doesnt make sense to me. is there anything better out there?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• buzzby_247
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • buzzby_247

Post 3+ Months Ago

what is cron limited to? so far from what i have read, cronjob runs a script at a designated time. i want to download information from a server. i have not seen any explanations that handle anything like that or am i just looking in the wrong place?
  • UPSGuy
  • Lurker ಠ_ಠ
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Nashville, TN

Post 3+ Months Ago

buzzby, think of cron as a job scheduler - I think you would be better off to write a script to handle your needs and then use cron to schedule the job to run once a week. That being said, you've read correctly thus far. Do you have experience with any scripting languages?
  • buzzby_247
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • buzzby_247

Post 3+ Months Ago

well i have had some experience with php, a little experience with mysql as well. i am mainly a front end web dev so back end languages are not my forte.