Apache test environment - all gone pete tong!!

  • matt@aylist
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 77
  • Loc: The Happy Place | UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've done the following process a fair few times in the past and found things straight forward.

This time I'm not so lucky.

I'm trying to to install the latest stable version of apache server to my lap top, my intention is to set it up as localhost for testing purposses.

I'm installing onto XP Pro, and using this download:
# Win32 Binary without crypto (no mod_ssl) (MSI Installer)

From Here:
http://httpd.apache.org/download.cgi

I've gone through the installation correctly and set "localhost" as my Network Domain and my Server Name. On completion of the installation the Apache server won't start tried both the Services Manager and the apache manager!

I am also expecting to see the apache welcome note on screen when I put http://localhost into my browser, all I get is a windows username and password authentication box.

I have checked all the usual suspects like port 80 not being used etc. All seems fine!

From a very confused and now very frustrated individual that is slowly lossing the will to live! :cry:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Did you enter your user name and password?
  • matt@aylist
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 77
  • Loc: The Happy Place | UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Don this might sound stupid but i didn't know i set one up?
I've not needed to log into the localhost on any other machine I've installed apache on! I don't even sign on when i start system that just kicks in as administrator..
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Then here's what you do. Click start, run, type compmgmt.msc press enter. Go to local users and groups, users, highlight administrator, click action, set password. Enter a password, click apply or whatever is says. Now you have an administrator password. You might have to reboot, I don't know. Try accessing the page first.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 4 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: ScottG, wpas and 124 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.