Automated Forum Setup Script ... Help Still Needed, Will Pay

• thecodman
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: CT, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,

I am an Admin of http://www.freeboards.uni.cc At the present time we have just myself and one other admin. We are receiving many more applications per day than i had expected and setting them up is becoming a time consuming task. Each application that gets submitted gets e-mailed to us and then we have to take that info and make a folder with username requested, upload the phpBB forum files for that user, run the phpBB installation and then send a welcome e-mail. While at the same time trying to keep an up-to-date user database and answer all support requests in a timely fashion. This task is becoming very time consuming, tedious, and repetetive!

Is there any free way to automate it maybe by using a php/cgi or the like script?

Is there another type of forum such as InvisionBoard maybe that we could do this with?

Thanks,
The CodMan
FreeBoards Administrator
jason-c@comcast.net
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can do it with phpBB, but it's not an easy task to do.

Check your PMs (if my msg ain't there yet, I'm still typing it, heh)
  • Lieven
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Belgium

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't know if you want to spend money on it or not...

if there's some cash available, check out Fantastico... They support a whole lot of phpscript builds.

Otherwise, write down what you do for every set-up and automate it in a php script... Create a 'build directory' that will be copied to every user's directory and modify some parameters.

I don't think it's that hard to do in PHP or bash
  • Alan2
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

all you need is theinformation entering in a Web form, which is then processed into a Sql Datababase.