Help, webmaster stuck in Iraq!

• TheApostleWebmaster
  • Born
  • Born
  • TheApostleWebmaster

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello. I am a webmaster and am currently serving in Iraq under OIF.

Since I have limited contact to the internet, I had to download my site to my laptop (temporary closing down the site for security reasons) and will continue to finish the site (as a "project"). But, I cannot run cgi scripts from my laptop like they ran from the server.

I have apache and perl installed, and Im using WinXP. I was lucky to get perl and apache. Im not excatly sure how to set the paths (its not the same as setting them for a server) and Im either getting an error 500 msg or I see the source when trying to run the script.

I will post some samples of script in a few so you can view them. Help is appreciated. Thx alot!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Scorpius
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Scorpion Hole

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, well if you used a linux server before, your paths are probably different for your perl scripts. So you will probably have to open up the perl scripts you are using and change the path to perl, which is normally the first line on the script. That should be all you will have to do.
  • TheApostleWebmaster
  • Born
  • Born
  • TheApostleWebmaster

Post 3+ Months Ago

It was hosted on Apache software, which I have now.
I feel like a newbie all over again. :?: :x

These are some of the problems:
When I run the scripts, I get either an error 500 (and I would think to chmod the script) or it would show the source.

I typed http://localhost/ in the brower (IE6.0) and "If you can see this, it means that the installation of the Apache web server software on this system was successful..."
I guess it was successfu; :>

Im running winxp. I didn't think chmod is necessary, and if it is, how do I chmod in win?