Java Script or Java Applet Real Time with out page refresh

• sxmman
  • Born
  • Born
  • sxmman

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am a system admin for a power company and we have real time data pages that work with javascripts to pick up the data from the devices. They only work with Java. I am looking for script or applet that will allow me to read a register array while not refreshing the page everytime.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

welcome to OZZU sxmman - I'm moving this to our Programming board.
  • _Leo_
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post 3+ Months Ago

I guess the best try is to do that with Java (applet) not JavaScript... You will face some security restrictions if you need to access a machine different from the webserver where the applet resides.
  • sxmman
  • Born
  • Born
  • sxmman

Post 3+ Months Ago

I will need to go off the webserver to request the data and I can't seem to find any applets that would work for this job. I am not well versed in Java and I am either looking for an applet or will try to make one of my own. I know that it has been done with OCX files.

Any more information or help is welcome and needed.
  • _Leo_
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yes, you can do that by using OCX because ActiveX files need to be installed (and accepted by the browser user) in order to work. Therefore you can access any IP and Port from an ActiveX. In Java you can't access other IP than the web server IP.

ActiveX files may be programmed in several languages, like Visual C and such. I think you can do the same with java applets, in such case the user will have to allow (by accepting some warning dialog) the applet to access the machine with the actual information you need to show.