MySQL help

• DavyDuke17
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • DavyDuke17

Post 3+ Months Ago

Okay, I'm really new to MySQL and I'm using phpadmin to do it. Now, I created the table and the fields but now I guess I'm supposed to be describing options for the data in the fields. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to put for length/values? I looked at the small help section and it confused me alot. I have 5 fields of decimal numbers between 20-0 and one field of text. I just reread what I typed and I doubt anyone will understand my question, lol, but if you can please help.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

This link gives complete details that you should really study to learn what the different field types and values are:

http://www.mysql.com/documentation/mysq ... lumn_types

However, to keep things relatively simple for now, for your number fields you should probably use tiny int with a length of 3 (the the length of 3 will allow for 3 colums of intigers, in other words, you could have the numbers 0- 999 in that field - you could do 2 which would allow 0-99) Attributes could be left blank. Null/not null - your choice. If you choose null, and there is not a value entered for a field the field will be left blank. If you choose not null the default will be 0 if no value is entered.

For the text field choose vchar and set a maximum length depending on how much text will be entered in that field. Try not to go overboard. Keeping the numbers small when possible improves the efficiency of the database, for example, if you don't expect the text field to ever be over 50 characters, then use 50 for the length value. Give yourself some leeway, but remember, the attributes can always be changed if you find in the future it's not sufficient.