Need to create Download Button php for website

• fishdish
  • Born
  • Born
  • fishdish

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello, I am a self taught web designer. I use Yahoo Sitebuilder. I have build a website for a small church that has the pastor's sermons online and available for download.

Up to this point I have simply given instructions in right-click and save. However, the church and myself want to make the site more professional looking.

Download buttons are one of those little things that just make a site look better and for the computer illiterate, less frightening.

I found an old post from back in 2007 of a php script for the very purpose I want. To be able to have the visitor click a Download button and be prompted to Open or Save.

However, I am missing something. Not putting the php file in the right place or something. I feel as if I am missing one tiny bit of assumed information. Could someone please help this frustrated designer? You would have my thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

You must change the content-type of what you are trying to give them. For example here is a small php script that would force the download of a file:

Code: [ Select ]
<?php

// force to download a file
$file = "http://www.yourdomain.com/downloads/".$_GET['file']."";

header("Pragma: public");
header("Expires: 0");
header("Cache-Control: must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0");

header("Content-Type: application/force-download");
header( "Content-Disposition: attachment; filename=".basename($file));

header( "Content-Description: File Transfer");
@readfile($file);

?>
  1. <?php
  2. // force to download a file
  3. $file = "http://www.yourdomain.com/downloads/".$_GET['file']."";
  4. header("Pragma: public");
  5. header("Expires: 0");
  6. header("Cache-Control: must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0");