im a newb perl user

• dreamer7
  • Student
  • Student
  • dreamer7
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok wel ive just started looking at perl cgi and ive done a tutorial type thing on it so i know how to do certain things like turning things into arrays and hashs but it was only a basic tutorial and it only got up to how to open, close and rename files and directories. What i want to know is how to use functions like param and things like that because there is a specific way u set it up like my $something =param("something") i take it cos i dont know much about this can someone tell me what it does exactly. Also im planning on making a form which has a some fields and an upload part to it if anyone has some code or can tell me how to mix them both it cud b useful and is there a way u can save the information as a html page perhaps im goin in at the deep end before u say lol but i think ill b gd at it one day (hopefully)
d7
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

dreamer7 wrote:
What i want to know is how to use functions like param and things like that because there is a specific way u set it up like my $something =param("something") i take it cos i dont know much about this can someone tell me what it does exactly.

I am not even sure what you are talking about. Is "param" supposed to be some perl function? or are you just using param as an example when in fact it might be something like:

Code: [ Select ]
$somevar = somefunction("string to pass");

If so that is exaclty how you do it. In your function you write though you would have to make sure you read read the passed variable by doing something like

sub somefunction {

my $localvar = shift;
  #now you can use $localvar where ever you want in this function.
  #in this case $localvar would have a value of "string to pass"

}
  1. sub somefunction {
  2.   my $localvar = shift;
  3.   #now you can use $localvar where ever you want in this function.