NKads (or any other PHP based banner script alternatives)...

• Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't know if any of you here are running NKads banner script on your site, or if anybody here's even heard of it, heh, but it's probably the best freeware banner script out there, it's opensource, and I've been using on my site for a few months now.

Development seems to have ceased altogether. Whilst they are still responding to E-Mails, etc. and accepting feature requests, they seem to be slow to fruition.

The key elements of this script that I like are that a banner-owner can login and be able to see nice pretty stats of exposures (on a daily/monthly/annual basis), and that I can add banners EITHER for a max number of impressions, or for unlimited impressions over a period of time.

So, if somebody pays me for 20K banner impressions, I set it to 20K impressions, unlimited time, and once it's been shown 20K times, it's automagically disabled.

If somebody pays me for 3 months worth of banners, I set it for a date 3 months from when they sign up with an unlimited number of impressions, and as soon as that date has passed, again it's automagically disabled.

Most of the other banner scripts I've seen are either one or the other. Either display for X days, or give X impressions (but not the option of both).

But, now I'm facing a problem. As the popularity of the site has grown, I've been getting more people willing to pay for banner advertisements. I also have a few banners that I have been running for friends free of charge. Now, it would not be fair to those who are paying to allow those free banners the same amount of exposure. Also, those free banners displaying as much as the paid ones means that those who pay for X amount of clicks are taking longer to display, and therefore for contracts to renew, and that those paying for X months are not getting (what I feel) are the amount of banner impressions they should be expecting.