PHP Search Engine: Effiecient coding?

• genxservers
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • genxservers

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, this is my first attempt at writing a "search engine" so I am pretty sure there are a lot of points that I overlooked or what not, but here's my algorithm.

The program is supposed to search for keywords from a MySQL DB with many fields. All fields are basic int, varchar fields that can be searched easily. One field though, is type tinytext. That field holds the description of an object and can go up 255 chars.

I have 2 tables that will deal with the search words.

One is the master list of all unique word that have been passed to this function, WordsDB (this db will have 2 fields: word_id int(11) auto_increment, and word varchar(20) .. both field will be indexed.)

The second table logs how many times a certain unique word have occurred in each unique product, OccurenceDB (this db will have 5 fields, occurence_id int(11) auto increment, brand_id int(11), product_id int(11), word_id int(11), and occurences int(11))

Person A (admin) will be adding products to the db, while processing the product add form, the code will:

1. Break $_POST[description] into associative array
2. Associative array will contain key = unique word, value = number occurence.
3. Traverse this associative array using foreach while
- checking each unique keyword against WordsDB
- if unique word is found in WordsDB, meaning word have been encountered before, get corresponding word_id value from WordsDB
- if not found, then add new entry to WordsDB and get word_id for newly added word.
- finally add new entry into OccurencesDB with word_id;

Now we have a list off where each word occurred and how many times that word occurred there. Right? I hope so.

Now Person B (site visitor) might want to search my db for product with Brand X with keyword 1, keyword 2 and keyword 3.
Algorithm for the search goes like this:

1. First do the easy search, search for all items of Brand X