Simple PHP Include Problem

• altom55
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • altom55
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Im new to PHP.
The last few days Ive spent trying to get a php include to work on the index page of my site.

I have a folder with a file that Im trying to call but it does not show up. My hosting support cannot help me with code, so Ill ask here.

Ive tried it with all sorts of dots and forward slashes combinations but the php include in the footer of my index page at designerrugs dot co simply does not work. My site is an HTML site, maybe thats a problem, but I was told this is perfectly OK.

When I look at the source code, the code shows in red and quotes something about using an xml file in a html file. I dont understand any of this.

I think this is a correct example of the right path for an index page - I think
<?php include("./adirectory/afile.php") ?>

Any sort of help would be much appreciated
Regards Alan
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Poly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Same place you left me.

Post 3+ Months Ago

You will need to change the extension of your index page from index.html to index.php. Be sure to remove or re-name the old file. This will not change anything else with your site or layout. Once you have done that, the include will work. In order for your web server to understand the <?php include(''); ?> command, you need to tell it that the file it is loading contains PHP code.

So:
Step 1: Rename index.html to index.php
Step 2: Add your <?php include(''); ?> at the bottom of the page.

As far as the dots and slashes, if the file you are including is in the same directory as your index file, you do not need to have any dots or slashes.
Ex:
Code: [ Select ]
<?php include ('test2.php'); ?>

If the file is in a sub directory of the index files directory, you will need a slash between the directory name and the file name. No leading slash and no trailing slash.
Ex: