Starting on ground zero

• rcs74
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Loc: Daytona Beach, FL

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi there - I need some insight from those willing to travel back to the days when they were just considering the idea of programming. Here's the scenario to be considered: As a tech newbie I have been given a task. Someone has been generous enough to donate a website programmed in VB with a .NET structure. Hopefully I said that correctly. I need to use Dreamweaver to take what's been done and make it ours. I have only programmed in HTML and it was VERY simple stuff...where would you the (seasoned veteran programmer) start?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• mk27
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

For starters, I would not use dreamweaver, it will just be confusing. Use a normal text editor with highlighting for Visual Basic.

If those html pages are generated server-side by VB/.NET, be aware that what you want to work with is NOT the html pages (another reason I suspect Dreamweaver will be pointless, altho I am not familiar with it's capabilities here...).

A server-side generated page is not coded by anyone. It is the product of a program on the server, and generated automatically whenever someone visits the page. There are many advantages to this -- for example, you can have numbers of pages with the same layout but different content. The content is kept in a database or other file, and the factors affecting layout in a separate file, or hard-coded in the server-side program(s) that create the pages on request.

So do not simply take the "page source" your browser receives and start working on that!

Beyond that, I don't use VB or .NET (there are many ways to generate pages server-side, eg. PHP), but I guess you should find a good intro tutorial to VB, since that is what your source files will be written in. Hopefully someone more familiar with these specific tools will leave some more details...
  • rcs74