Search found 75 matches

Actual Results

Post Posted: March 28th, 2007, 2:13 pm

I inherited the privilege (*cough*) of managing two 100% flash-based sites and had occasional load times of >1 min. Your site is incredibly clean. I loaded it in less than 5 seconds over a 3mbps dedicated circuit. I can say, without question, that this is the cleanest 100% flash site I've ever se...

Post Posted: March 28th, 2007, 1:56 pm

I'm not as impressed as some of the others. I think you're off to a nice start. First, it's unclear who you are trying to reach. The statement, "Dirdle is a free resource center dedicated to answering all your questions. Expand our knowledge base by sharing your wisdom!" is insanely broad ...

Post Posted: March 28th, 2007, 1:39 pm

It's my opinion, but I don't get a few of the marketing plugs on the site. I work more on the interactive marketing side, so my first criticisms are less about structure, and more about flow. I'd say the first thing to remove would be the "tell a friend" link. This isn't a "look at th...

Post Posted: March 28th, 2007, 1:25 pm

You're off to a good start. I concur with the non-IE browsers (a significant segment these days - especially in the tech community). I'd recommend completely removing the initial "intro" page. I only saw a bit of text there, but 99 people out of 100 will skip it, so I wouldn't waste a lot ...

Post Posted: July 24th, 2006, 7:24 am

Well, since I last posted this I have proof positive that the information did come from DMOZ, so I'm sorry to say that -in this case- the MSN search data did (somehow) come from DMOZ. It may have come from a site that scraped DMOZ, as opposed to DMOZ itself, but the source was DMOZ.

Post Posted: March 13th, 2006, 3:26 pm

Thanks for the info. Unfortunately, the results I'm getting on Wisenut are not duplicated on Looksmart.

Post Posted: March 8th, 2006, 2:57 pm

I think that anyone who just makes a phony site just to get ad clicks is acting unethically... no matter what the search terms are.

The web is supposed to be a place for useful information, and all you're doing with these sites is littering up the information highway.

Post Posted: March 8th, 2006, 2:55 pm

Thanks veto. I am 100% positive that the root location for the description was DMOZ, but because so many sites have raped DMOZ's directory info, it's hard to say if MSN spidered DMOZ and got it, or if they got it from one of the copies. Thanks again for the comment, it seems that you're the only oth...

Post Posted: February 28th, 2006, 4:21 pm

According to Bruce Clay's SE Relationship Chart, MSN does not get a feed from DMOZ, yet, when I search for a specific term, I get the entry from DMOZ in the SERP.

Any thoughts or knowledge of where MSN gets its descriptions when a site has no meta tag information?

Post Posted: February 28th, 2006, 4:17 pm

When I search for a company name (I can't currently divulge the name) on Wisenut.com, it shows that company's competitor web page along with the company for which I am searching. Do you know where Wisenut gets its links? There is no description on the "competitor" listing, and these same r...

Post Posted: February 6th, 2006, 3:35 pm

According to the Financial Times, BMW.de and Ricoh.de were banned by Google for "...manipulation of its search engine."

Has anyone else seen similar results on any other sites?

Post Posted: February 2nd, 2006, 12:10 pm

Sure they are. If they aren't useful to humans, and their only purpose is to feed the spiders, then most likely they are going to have a negative impact on site performance (when the site is B4NZ0R3D!11!) :) For more help, note the following Google Guidelines : - "Don't employ cloaking or sneak...

Post Posted: February 2nd, 2006, 12:00 pm

I had a competitor do the same thing once. I can't recall what I did to get it to stop, but I believe I just kept clicking the [esc] button until I got it to stop on the rogue page. Once I did, in my case, their page was full of keywords, phrases, content, etc. It was all geared toward high SERP per...

Post Posted: February 2nd, 2006, 11:55 am

...as it is associated with an unapproved application. For more information about your application, please review the message we sent to the email address you provided with your application. Are you using some sort of software or online service to make adjustments to your AdWords/AdSense account? I...

Post Posted: February 2nd, 2006, 11:49 am

I don't think that Google would allow photos of any of their data centers to be taken for any reason, ever. Heck, they won't even let the government past their "data lobby." ;) Regarding your theory, jvpresley... I'm no expert on the subject, but 100,000 PC's sounds like a fantastic waste ...
  • Sort by
 
 

© Unmelted Enterprises 1998-2009. Driven by phpBB © 2001-2009 phpBB Group.