Any idea

  • A.Kannan
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 216
  • Loc: Sivakasi, TamilNadu, India

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello Friends

I am using

Windows 2003 Server Machine – 1 (172.100.100.1)
Redhat Linux 9.0 Machine – 1 (172.100.100.220)
Windows 2000 Professional Machine – 4 (172.100.100.5 – 172.100.100.8)

A local website (test.org) is configured in windows 2003 server.

Modem is configured in Redhat Linux 9.0 and squid is configured and working properly.

All Windows 2000 professional machines are browsing through Linux squid proxy.

Windows Internet Explorer Settings (172.100.100.220 : 3128)

My question is

How to browse a local website(test.org) in windows 2000 machine.

Whether if any configuration changes in squid proxy.

or

Any changes in windows 2003 or Redhat Linux machine.


Please reply.

Thank You
  • Daemonguy
  • Moderator
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2700
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am really not sure what you are asking; how to hit your test site in your own local network?

Have you tried just going to that IP in the browser?

Alternatively, you could make an entry in your HOSTS file (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) to point that domain name at the internal IP.

Perhaps your needs are more complex than that, but that was all I could derive from your query.
  • PsyckBoy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • PsyckBoy
  • Posts: 204
  • Loc: SoCal

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think it makes more sense to add test.org to /etc/hosts on the squid proxy since it's the machine that will actually do the web request.
  • Daemonguy
  • Moderator
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2700
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

As I understood it, it was a test environment, which he may not want everyone to resolve; hence the local HOSTS file.
  • PsyckBoy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • PsyckBoy
  • Posts: 204
  • Loc: SoCal

Post 3+ Months Ago

The local hosts file won't help. When your browser is configured to use a proxy, it doesn't do any domain name resolution. It simply sends the URL you entered to the proxy server. The proxy server is what does the actual lookup.

He either needs to put test.org in the proxy's hosts file or configure his browser to not use the proxy when connecting to test.org.
  • Daemonguy
  • Moderator
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2700
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

Again, I assumed that since this was for 'test' he had the ability to uncheck the little box and disable the proxy.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 6 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.