Basic file system question, on gentoo live cd

• Mars
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: Flordia

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, I'm using PPC Gentoo live CD and I was wondering where my applications: gaim, firefox and such were located in the file system. Normally (at least on Mac OS X) the applications are somewhere in the home folder, however that only contains desktop icons on gentoo. I also checked the /binaries and a few other locations, none of which had it. It's not really that important for me to find them, I'd just like to know where they are for my own personal knowledge. I've search around a bit and haven't been successful and I'm starting to wonder if maybe they are built into the kernal somehow (prob a dumb thought). Anyways if you could shed some light on it I'd greatly appriciate it.

there are also a few other things that are confusing me (I'm a linux noob, I only have a little experiance with unix like systems, but I'm trying to gain some more knowledge of it). anyways surprisingly gentoo supported my bluetooth keyboard, however for some reason it does not support my bluetooth mighty mouse. (I obviously can't install drivers since I'm using a live cd).

also, Is there any way for me to be able to right click. I know that I can edit /etc/sysctl.conf and set dev/mac_hid/mouse_button_emulation to "1", but editing conf files doesn't sit well with live cd's unless I'm missing something. Also -- understanably -- it doesn't support my airport extreame, so I had to use my ethernet cable, its kind of funny that it has to be pluged in while booting in order to register it and allow me to get online, is there anyway to load that driver once loged in?