i can't install the lorma linux

• reaz
  • reaz

Post 3+ Months Ago

helo.. i'm completely new in linux..:) i've downloaded the lorma linux and i want to install it..
but theres the problem.. when it asks me to type the destination where is the CD image (iso9660) for red hat i typed the destination where i downloaded it (which is C:/linux/lorma) but it says that theres no sutch file... it wants also something from /dev/hda1 , but i don't have suth destination.. what should i do?? i'm completely confused... i'm green with it so could someone tell me exacly what it is all about?
thanx..:)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• reaz
  • reaz

Post 3+ Months Ago

is lorma a good linux for me when i'm starting? or knoppix would be better?? some sugestions? and sorry for mistakes..i'm just learning english..:/
  • reaz
  • reaz

Post 3+ Months Ago

i forgot to add that i've created a floppy disc and from it i'm tryingo to install the lorma..:)
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

I beleive it is asking you for the directory/ or where the cd is. Such as D: if it is a cd or C:folder/whereitis

What I would do is write the image to a cd (alcohol 120% is good for this) if you havent already. Put the cd in and reboot. It should boot from the cd...If not you may have to go into BIOS and select something like boot from IDE drive or something.
  • b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

Also, it is important to note linux does not run off the x: file system, rather pure directory's such as /home, /usr. /dev. etc.
  • reaz
  • reaz

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok.. taht's explains sth..:) so could You tell me... if I want to install the lorma from http://linux.lorma.edu/download.php where it is in .rar archiwe then should I unpack it and write on CD?? and firstly make an boot floopy..:) is that correct? :wink:
:roll:
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind