Cant install network card

• phero
  • Born
  • Born
  • phero

Post 3+ Months Ago

hey guys ..
i'm a linux newbie and i'm trying to install network card D-link DEF-530TX fast ethernet
i followed the steps but in step 4) which i suppose to compile the source file .when
i typed the command 'make -fMakefile' to generate frhine.o got an error message 'can't open kernel source'
what should do ..?!
:!:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• PsyckBoy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • PsyckBoy
  • Loc: SoCal

Post 3+ Months Ago

You need the kernel sources corresponding to your currently running kernel available on your computer in order to compile kernel modules. The sources are usually located in /usr/src. If you don't have them, you'll need to download, extract, and configure them there.