complete noob needs help installing *sigh*

• penguin
  • Flying penguins
  • Banned
  • Loc: Behind you !

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok I downloaded Ubunutu. I then put it on my disk. I restart my computer and it says start linux / install, boot from disk, Start in some grfx mode ect ect.

I clicked on boot from disk and nothing happened? I also tried start linux and nothing? At this rate im doomed to windows, Can anyone help please.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• SpooF
  • ٩๏̯͡๏۶
  • Bronze Member
  • Loc: Richland, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Nothing as in its doent go anywhere and you can still navigate the menu with your keyboard, or as in it freeze/screen goes black?
  • penguin
  • Flying penguins
  • Banned

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well When I click the start bit when i first start my pc, Nothing happens, When I clikc boot from disk, It takes me to my dashboard but does nothing?

Im sorry for being kinda newbie about this, But its like my first time with changing OS :P
  • SpooF
  • ٩๏̯͡๏۶
  • Bronze Member

Post 3+ Months Ago

How did you burn the file you downloaded to the cd?

My guess is that you directly burned it as if it was a file and not an ISO image.

Quote:
You probably have recorded the .iso file to CD as a file, not as a CD image. The .iso file is a CD image and needs to be recorded as such. If you burn it as a regular file, the resulting CD will not work. Try opening the CD in any computer. You should see a few files and directories. If you see "ubuntu-xxxxx-xxxxx.iso" as the only file in the CD instead, you haven't correctly created the CD. Look for the 'Write CD image' or similar option of your favourite CD creation program and use it to record the .iso file to CD. Reboot and enjoy

I use this program:
http://infrarecorder.sourceforge.net/

To burn an ISO image to a disk you simple insert a blank cd, got Actions>Burn Image and select the ISO image and the correct Drive.
  • penguin
  • Flying penguins