Creating a Linux operating system

• demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is creating a linux operating system possible and if so how can it be done?

I am wanting a challenge and I am wondering on how i get started on it.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

sounds like this is what you're looking for. ?yes?
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member

Post 3+ Months Ago

It looks like it thank you.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

you're welcome :]

if you have any more questions feel free to post away.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member

Post 3+ Months Ago

Just to let you know I am new to Linux and thanks again for the link. I am wanting to build my own os but the book is saying that i must know the basics of linux that i do not know. Is there a place that i can go to, to either learn or can you possibly help me.
  • murcielagossi
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

Youre new to linux and you wanted to make one from scratch, talk about a challenge. You need to learn it first, just use a disto and try to make things work,
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

hm..yea, i would have to also suggest downloading a distro and playing with it. a livecd would be best as you can run the distro right off the disk - no need to install it, unless you want to. examples of such distro's are ubuntu and fedora 7 (they have two versions, the cd is live and the dvd is install) and there are plenty others. check out different distro's at http://www.distrowatch.com

for more on the basics of linux, check out this article http://www.freeos.com/articles/4414/
  • gu3
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: NCL- England

Post 3+ Months Ago

yer you dont wanna build a linuz system when you dont no anything about it...