Dual Boot Basics

• pop pop
  • Born
  • Born
  • pop pop

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm not a complete nooB with Linux, I would say novice-to-intermediate fits. Here's thequestion:

I have a home network. One node is configured for dual boot with XP Home and Mandrake 10.1. That node has a single physical drive partitioned approprately by the Mandrake installation. The boot manager is Grub or Lilo (forget which).

I have a second node (my main box) that I want to install Mandrake on. That node is a W2K Pro box with two phyical HDD's (C: and F: in Windoze parlance). I want to make this a dual boot unit also but I want Mandrake on the second physical drive. Can I do that and have the boot manager installed on the primary drive or do both OS's have to reside on the boot drive with the boot manager?

Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Xel02
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Xel02

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's perfectly fine to install Mandrake on the other HDD and then use a bootloader like Grub and configure it to boot. There should be no problem's as long as you configure it correctly.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

and by "configure it correctly", the meaning is just go through the setup and choose the appropriate options. i have 2 physical drives and the 80 gig master is running XP and the 160 gig slave is running FC3. so i wouldn't worry about the boot loader, and let the setup do what you want it to.
  • pop pop
  • Born
  • Born
  • pop pop

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sounds logical and comforting. I have backups for even more comfort.

Thanks.
  • Sheepdip
  • Student
  • Student
  • Loc: Castle Anthrax

Post 3+ Months Ago

On a related note... if I was planning on setting up a dual boot Linux (Fedora)/Windows XP Pro system, what is the proper order of installation (or does it matter?)

Windows then Linux or Linux then Windows?
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master