Errors while compiling C, C++ in linux

• chandrika21
  • Born
  • Born
  • chandrika21

Post 3+ Months Ago

1.Cannot compile C, C++ with RedHat Enterprise Linux 3.0.(gcc 3.2.3)

I recently dual booted Linux and Windows XP. They work fine. But I have a problem compiling C, C++ in linux. Whenever I compile C files , "it says stdio.h: No such file or directory". When I compile C++ files , it gives out thousands of errors , with first few saying:"cstdio.h:No such file or directory". I checked and saw that gcc package has been installed and glibc etc...all the libraries that come come with it have been installed. i am very new to linux . Can someone help me?

2. Installing Java

I downloaded the j2sdk1.4.2 self extracting rpm package by running the self executable text file. I used "j2sdk -ql" to query if package has been installed. It displays several file paths which confirms that the package has been installed.bUt when I use javac , it says "command not found". Something must be missing here too. Cna someone tell me how to solve this problem?

3. Transfer files between linux and Windows.
i wanted to copy a text file edited in linux to windows, through a floppy disk. Since both OS have different file partition schemes each of the operating systems asks to format the floppy . I am not sure , but is there a way I can copy files from linux to windows?

I would appreciate if my questions are answered. I am very new to linux.
Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• sanjustudy
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • sanjustudy

Post 3+ Months Ago

hai chadrika ,
while running the c,c++ files u r getting the problem of header files check out whether these header files are avialable in /usr/lib

for eg stdio.h this .h has to be available in /urs/lib/ similarly others also then both ur c, c++ works fine if still problem then mail me at sanju@inbox.com

Rergards
Sanju
  • sanjustudy
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • sanjustudy

Post 3+ Months Ago

hai ,